31 Days of Horror I Haven’t Seen – Day #17 – CORPSE PARTY: TORTURED SOULS

Every day for the month of October I am watching and reviewing a horror movie that I haven’t seen before. Here’s today’s:

corpse-party

CORPSE PARTY: TORTURED SOULS

Akira Iwanaga, Japan, 2013

I’ve stretched with previous days the definition of “horror” and now I’m going to stretch the definition of “movie.” This was originally aired as a four part TV series but it is one story that adds up to just under two hours. I’ve done made-for-TV movies already and this isn’t that different.

Anime is one of the few “nerd” things I’ve never really been able to get into. There’s common tropes that just turn me off. This anime is constantly listed as one of the scariest and goriest ever made.

It does at times fall victim to the fan service prevalent in the genre but only in the very beginning and I believe it was to misdirect the viewer. The story quickly turns into SILENT HILL meets HELLRAISER after a class of school children are sucked into another dimension where the evil and supernatural rule.

The visuals are wonderful and the animation is fantastic. However, the plot is extremely convoluted and once you realize what’s all going on it’s a bit cliché. The surreal and grotesque visuals make up for the lacking story and I have to say I enjoyed myself from beginning to end.

So what other hardcore horror anime is out there? And is there any without schoolgirls?

Leave a Reply

